From optimists to pessimists, 114 entries come in for first week of Echo’s Shagawa Lake Ice Out Contest

Contest ends March 27 unless ice is out by then

by Anne Swenson -

On Monday the cold spell broke and Burntside River was water-glazed. Shagawa River, as usual, is open at County 88.
On Tuesday there were gusty winds and swirling fresh snow, followed by below zero weather.
Time for the Ely Echo’s Ice Out Contest entries to be noted. Remember, your entry will only be listed one time and only entry per person.
You can enter on-line:, at the Ely Echo, 15 E Chapman St., Ely MN 55731 in person or by snail mail, or at co-sponsor’s of the contest: Grand Ely Lodge. Send date, time of day, name, address and phone number for your entry.
Prizes are $100, $50 and $25 in trade bucks.
All entries must be received by March 26, 2017 unless ice is already out by then.
Here then are the first week’s entries:
March 13 at 10:41 a.m., Kim Puzel, Ely;
March 18 at 3:30 p.m., Cole Kretzman, Edina, MN;
March 20 at 4;30 p.m., Cheri Debeltz, Ely;
March 21 at 7:30 a.m.,Carena DeBeltz, Ely; at 2:36 p.m., Kevin Zelpelt, Pequot Lakes, MN; 4:02 p.m., Layla Puglielle, Ely;
March 22 at 1 p.m., Annabelle Henry, Ely; 6:36 p.m., Anna Urbas, Ely;
March 25 at1 a.m., Sam Beene, Minneapolis; 12;34 p.m., Carl Larson, Minneapolis, MN;
March 26 at 2:17 p.m., Jerome Haberman, Milaca, MN; at 3:17 p.m., emailed optimistic Otwell J. Derr, Longmont, Colorado.
Illinoisan Kathy Shanahan chose March 28 at 2:04 p.m.
March 30 at at 3:26 p.m., Sally Dunn, Ely;
March 31 at 10 a.m., Nancy Johnson, Milaca, MN;
April 1 at noon is the choice of Bob Anderson of Eagan, MN; 4:37 p.m., Kay Vandervort, Ely;
Susan Kasbeer was the first contest entry with her April 2 at 12:02 p.m.
April 3 at 11:02 a.m., Jessica Puglielli, Ely; 6:30 p.m., Dominic Puglleli, Ely;
April 4 at April 4, 2017 @ 9:12 a.m., “Thank you for the fun contest,” wrote Steve Saisa, Las Vegas, NM; 11:15 a.m., Tony Nemo, Ely; at 2:16 p.m. of her birthday is the choice on mom Lori Quigley, Lake Forest, CA;
April 5 at 8 p.m., Robert Gruhlke, Ely;
April 6 at 1 a.m., Jim Runkle, Tower, MN;
April 8 at 1 p.m., James Southwick, St. Paul, MN; 3:25 p.m., Liane Jeske, Ely;
April 9, 2:15 p.m. Carlos Santos, Charlottesville, aA; at 1:17 p.m., Sarah Burgerm Ely;
April 10 at 2:23 p.m., John Lahtonen, Ely; at 3 p.m., Joan Sundquist, St. Paul, MN;
April 11 at 11 a.m., Lee Packila, Ely; at 11:11 a.m., Sarah Sponholz, Ely;
April 12 at 10:40 a.m., Dale Sanford, Eagan, MN; 12:12 pm., Kenneth Pulkinen, Embarrass; at 3:30 p.m., Kristi Portugue, Lakeville MN; at 4:12 p.m., Patsy Puglielli, Ely;
April 14 at 10:45 a.m., Chuck Mathew, Owatonna, MN; at 12:05 p.m., James W. Sprowl, New Lebanon, OH ; 1:35 pm. was chosen by Val Hill, Gilbert, MN; at 3:32 p.m., Charlie Snyder April 15 at 1 a.m., Greg Stall, Minnespolis, MN; 12 p.m., Andy Dunn, Ely; at 12:27 p.m. was chosen by dad John Quigley, Lake Forest, CA, who wrote: “ We are a long time ‘separated’ family of Ely. My Grandfather Frank Wilson was the music teacher at Ely High School, my Grandmother Helen Wilson was the bookkeeper for Charlie Lambert of the Ely (Kist) Bottling works, and my father Jim Quigley graduated from Ely High School. These predictions are an annual favorite of our family (and we also love seeing our names in our favorite local newspaper!) Thanks! See you all in Ely in a few months.”
April 15 at 2 p.m., Kaitlin Knutson, Ely; at 2:15 p.m., Patricia Francis, Ely; at 3 p.m., Johanna Halloff, Marchall, MN; at 4 p.m., Marianne Runkle, Tower, MN; 4:05 p.m., Chris Anderson, Babbitt;
April 16 at 11:30 a.m., Carl Moger, Ely; at 12:12 p.m., Joann Grahek, Coon Rapids, MN; at 2:12 p.m., Connie Olson, Hills, MN; at 2:13 p.m., Becky Hanson, Elk River, MN; 3:21 p.m., Joyce Bernard, Mount Airy, MD who added, “Can’t wait for summer and to be in Ely!”; at 3:23 p.m., Jeff Winters, Maple Grove, MN; at 4:00 p.m., Diane Swenson, Blooming Prairie, MN; 4:41 p.m., Jaciu Tolbert, Ely; 7:35 p.m., DeDe Ernst, Ely;
April 17 at 11 a.m., Chris Rogers, Ely; 11:45 a.m., “Thanks for the contest!” wrote John Maurer of Ames, Iowa; at 2 p.m., Mike Portugue, Lakeville MN; at 3:10 p.m., at 7 p.m., Rick Merb, McDermott, OH; at 3:40 p.m., Anna Dunn, Ely;
April 19 at 11:29 a.m., Lois Sanford, Minneapolis, MN; at 1:13 p.m. Montana Quigley, Lake Forest, CA; at 5:37 p.m., Lucy Dunn, Ely;
April 20 at 8 a.m., Pat Stock, Ely;10 a.m., Kathy Waterbury, Ely; 12:15 p.m., Jen Gubrud, Ely;
April 21 at 6:40 a.m., Bob Niskala, Ely; at 12:05 p.m. - Sandy Nickolson, Hibbing, MN; 12:31 p.m., Leah Hiller, Ely; while Carl Swenson, Blooming Prairie, MN chose 2:30 p.m.
April 22, at 5 a.m., Donna Niskala, Ely; 11:45 a.m., Joyce Saisa, Virginia, MN;
April 23 at 1:23 p.m., Don Bargen, Ely; at 3 p.m., Heather Nappa, Ely; 3 p.m., Dave Streit, Ely;
April 24 at 9:54 a.m., Dustin Carlson, Marshall, MN; at 11:35 a.m., Kim Hill, Gilbert, MN; at 4:24 p.m., Becky Peterson, White Bear lake, MN;
April 25 at 11:23 a.m., Jenna Quigley, Lake Forest, CA; at 12 noon is Maggie Jung’s choice from Buyck, MN; at 1:30 p.m., Shane McKenney, Maple Grove, MN; at 4 p.m., Lulu Lawson-McClellan; Minneapolis, MN;
April 26 at 2:22 p.m., Jessie Dunn, Ely;
April 27 at 12 p.m., Pete Streit, Ely; at 1:32 p.m., Eric Coen, Stacy, MN; at2:36 p.m., Mary Nemo, Oakdale, MN; 3 p.m., William Geljan, Shorewood, MN;
April 28 at 9 a.m., Kevin Dunn, Ely; 10:05 a.m., Mark Williams, St. Cloud, MN; at 11 a.m., Mark Rygh, Ham Lake, MN; at 1:11 p.m., Sean Makela, Ely; 1:20 p.m., Tiffany Davis, Ely; 1:34 p.m., Stan Olson, Hills, MN; st 1:37 p.m., on her birthday - Leyna Quigley, Lake Forest, CA;
April 29 at 2:45 p.m., Bobbie Hodge, Ely; at 4 p.m., Kelly Noble, Ely;
May 1, at 11 a.m., Greg Dunnell, Niwot CO; 11:42 a.m., Wayne Orth, Babbitt; 1 p.m., Dan Peterson. White Bear Lake, MN; 2:32 p.m., Sharyl Polyner, Ely; at 3 p.m., Bob Hodge, Winton;
May 2 at 11:30 a.m., Krista Gotchnik, Ely; at 2:06 p.m., Jaime Lehmann, Minneapolis; at 3:50 p.m., Elise McKenney, Bloomington, MN;
May 3 at 11:27 a.m., Grace Quigley, Lake Forest, CA, May 9 at 1:40 p.m., Kelly Klun, Ely;
May 5 at 2:46 p.m., Matt Hankey, Shoreview, MN;
May 7 at 9 p.m., Linda Feaster, Ely;
May 14 at 10:05 a.m. is the choice of JoAnn Derr, Longmont, CO; at noon, Lynda Dunnell, Niwot CO;
May 17 at 2:07 p.m., Rochelle Sjoberg, Ely;
May 26 at 6 p.m., Alyce Moravitz, Ely;
April 28 at 2:28 p.m., Tiffany Davis, Ely.