Skip to main content

Ely’s DeBeltz named president of United Way of NE MN

United Way of Northeastern Minnesota announced Dean DeBeltz of Ely as its new president at the organization’s annual Campaign Celebration March 31.

The event marked the end of UWNEMN’s fiscal year, and donors, volunteers, and partner agencies gathered to celebrate the results of the 2022 campaign which raised more than $2 million.

UWNEMN fundraises throughout the year primarily via workplace campaigns and events to support nonprofits and its own direct service programs throughout the Iron Range, Koochiching County and Lake of the Woods County.

Chrissy Bartovich, Alicia Dick, Jennie Hipple, Jaime Johnson, and Nikki Skifstad joined this year’s UWNEMN board of directors.

Returning board members include: Dianne Buhrow, Chad Buus, Eric Clement, DeBeltz, Jennifer Ford, Jack Furlong, LaTisha Gietzen, Matt Hiti, Paul Janssen, Breanne Katrin, Ashley Kjenaas, April Klander, Marci Knight, Dan Kotnik, Stacy Kuusinen, Frank LaMusga, Julie Lucas, Jeannie Nobens, Mike Norton, Robb Peterson, Nick Renollet, Laura Rosier, Greg Schulzetenberg, Samantha Silcox and Jim Skalski.

DeBeltz said in his tenure he hopes to deepen UWNEMN’s impact in the eastern part of the organization’s service area in communities like Aurora, Biwabik, Bois Forte, Ely, Hoyt Lakes and Tower. While UWNEMN has accomplished much in recent years, there is still work to be done this year, he noted.

“We’ve muscled through a pandemic, yet financial pressures such as inflation and the high cost of consumer goods will continue to challenge those most in need of our help,” he said.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates